Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Fourtitude.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    1. Member
      Cars
      MT: 244'80 V70R'07 340x'16
      07-10-2019 02:10 PM #1
      Finally had a chance to visit the Green Hell for one of the Touristenfahrten. I have limited experience driving on a track so I booked a VW Polo GTI with an instructor through Apex Nürburg. Very glad I didn't go at the it alone. Between the countless blind and cresting corners and all the other cars coming up fast, it would have been a very stressful ordeal and presumably a lot more dangerous too.

Given my heritage, I was paired with countryman Mike who provided pointers in Dutch. In a nutshell, he would continuously indicate breaking and turning points, which side of the track to aim for and whether to hold or push the throttle. The whole lap went something like this: “go to the right side of the track … hard brake … turn-in at the sign … hold the throttle … back to the right side in a straight line … soft brake … speed is good … turn-in … on the throttle and let the car pull you out to the other side … car approaching”, etc.

I quickly realized it was best to follow Mike's instructions to the tee. Early on, despite Mike's assurance that “the speed is good” and general instruction to only break in a straight line, I felt like we were going into a corner a little hot and in a reflex lightly tapped the brake after having turned in. The Polo was not amused and the back-end suddenly got very light; quickly corrected my error and let trust in Mike override my fear from then on out. We did two back-to-back laps and the whole experience was a complete rush from beginning to end.