VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

think i jumped teeth. new here-90 cabriolet for my kid

2K views 11 replies 3 participants last post by  anextgli 
#1 ·
posted in cabriolet forums but now have issues with getting this thing started.
i dont know much- not a mechanic- trying to get this car fixed and running for my kids first car-
saw some instructions on how to do some stuff.-
so tdc- right side- green cap is off and its where it needs to be.
distributer is pointing to where 1 will fire.
#1 is at the top
NOW
the cam sprocket <<im prob calling it wrong. has a dot on the back- and 2 things stamped to other side. and im off- if i bring the dot on the back to meet valve cover- it will throw everything else off.

obviously i am not a mechanic.

need to know how to fix.
and if i need to take everything on the passenger side off to be able to do this???

car was my kids brothers car- sat for about a year- but ran- was told it needed a trans mount- which it did- engine was sitting about 3 inches from where it belonged. i know its rusty
i know its old-
just need some help

See less See more
#2 ·
guys, i am searching- looking for answers- just posted with hopes someone could give me some advice or point me in the right direction.
dont have books or bently yet- just had car towed here 2 days ago. guess im going to look for into on how to check for spark before i start pulling things apart- again, since im not a mechanic-
just trying to get the car running for my kid.

dont know if jumped teeth was the right way to phrase my issue or not. jus know the car ran and then sat for months and now- i hear it crank but won't turn over.

looked at a post- about 100 times that shows how to get the timing right- but on this car- if i get top dead center from left to right- on driver side- the crank or flywheel or whatever is under green cap- does not look right-