Fourtitude.com - Bilstein monotubes, are they always this good?
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Fourtitude.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    1. Member
      Cars
      2020 Prius Prime, 2016 RAV4 Hybrid
      10-20-2018 07:54 PM #1
      I've been modding VW's for almost two decades now, and somehow, I've never run Bilstein shocks. Blame it on the stance trend, I've always used coilovers, KW, H&R, FK silverlines, etc. I liked the ajustability for winter/summer mode. All of them had progressive rate springs and twin tube shocks, and I always got tired of running a ''drop'' after a few months, not matter how they were ajusted, there was always some bounce, and even though the suspension was stiffer, I still felt like the car handled worse than stock.

Fast forward to my current ride, I can't seem to let go of, my MK5 Jetta, which has been as reliable as a Corolla.

Early this summer, I swapped out my aging OEM suspension with linear rate Driver's Gear springs, and Bilstein B6 monotube shocks with the stiffer MK5 valving. I am completely blown away by how well the car rides. It's definetaly stiff, very stiff, but not uncomfortable, and the way the car rides and handles is nothing short of amazing. Contrary to coilovers, I'm enjoying these more each and every day instead of growing tired of the setup. My wife enjoys driving it on our horrible Montreal roads, and passengers always comment how great the car rides.

I've heard so many mixed reviews on Bilsteins, are they really hit or miss? I don't know if I'll ever be able to daily a non-Bilsteined car ever again
      Last edited by Dubveiser; 10-20-2018 at 07:58 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

3. 10-20-2018 08:31 PM #2
      For a good OEM replacement shock, I've always been happy with Koni and Bilsteins. They may cost more than the cheap budget coilovers, but I can't complain about their performance.

4. 10-20-2018 09:33 PM #3