Fourtitude.com - 02Q and SPEC Stage 2+ Clutch Hard to shift 1st and 2nd sometimes
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Fourtitude.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
      Cars
      09 Rabbit S, 07 GTI
      10-08-2017 12:45 AM #1
      I'll start with the issues. (From what I remember, the first two started after I replaced the clutch and flywheel.)

1. Every so often the vehicle is hard to get in or out of first/second gear.
      2. Once in a while the clutch grabs closer to the floor than normal.
      3. The shifter is a little sloppy. It has more wobble than, for example, my 2009 Rabbit.

I worked as a tech for almost 7 years, but I never really messed around with transmissions much. Replacing them, sure. Taking them apart, maybe twice. I'm going to include as much detail as I can think of. Forgive me if my technical terms are not correct.

I have an '07 GTI which has the 02Q six-speed manual. When my engine puked at 158K, I put in a low mileage engine. I replaced the clutch and flywheel with a SPEC Stage 2+ clutch and aluminum flywheel kit because it was all open anyways. I noticed when the transmission was out that the nut that holds the shifter mechanism to the selector shaft? what slightly loose, so I tightened it. I thought that was my sloppy shifter issue, but nothing changed. The SPEC Clutch comes with a new slave cylinder and also used a shim. I don't remember ever adjusting the cables, but I didn't move anything. It wouldn't solve all my issues anyways, but could be a start. I know the shift forks are a known weak spot, but they're definitely not broken. lol Could the 1-2 fork be slightly bent? I read something about selector shaft fingers... What's that about? What else goes wrong with these trannies?

If someone has experience with the 02Q, input is appreciated.