Fourtitude.com - Audi TT 3.2 6 speed manual transmission in a mkv R32
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    Fourtitude.com


    Results 1 to 13 of 13
    1. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 9th, 2011
      Location
      Kingston ny 12401
      Posts
      482
      03-24-2017 08:40 PM #1
      I was wonder if anyone has every seen a 6 speed manual trans from. 3.2 Audi TT swap in to the mkv 3.2 R32 any info is greatly appreciated as I would like to do this myself thanks in advanced

    2. Remove Advertisements
      Fourtitude.com
      Advertisements
    3. Member dckeener's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 10th, 2005
      Location
      21201
      Posts
      1,849
      Cars
      02.5 Gti 24v. 85 Golf 1.8t.
      03-26-2017 02:46 AM #2
      I dont own either of those cars but I am under the impression that they are the same transmissions as long as the TT is all wheel drive.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 31st, 2013
      Location
      Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
      Posts
      220
      Cars
      2016 Golf R DSG / 2008 Audi TT 3.2 034 Motorsports Stage 3 / 2017 SQ5 Dynamic
      03-26-2017 09:32 AM #3
      I have a 6spd TT. As long as you have the correct flywheel (6spd TT dual mass). This is what I have been told.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 9th, 2011
      Location
      Kingston ny 12401
      Posts
      482
      03-26-2017 06:32 PM #4
      That is wat I was thinking just have to a matching flywheel thank for the input guys

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 9th, 2011
      Location
      Kingston ny 12401
      Posts
      482
      04-01-2017 01:53 PM #5
      Does anyone kno if the computer will read check engine if I do this swap

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 31st, 2013
      Location
      Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
      Posts
      220
      Cars
      2016 Golf R DSG / 2008 Audi TT 3.2 034 Motorsports Stage 3 / 2017 SQ5 Dynamic
      04-04-2017 11:09 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by keylo845 View Post
      Does anyone kno if the computer will read check engine if I do this swap
      You'd have to recode your ecu to take out the dsg.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 9th, 2011
      Location
      Kingston ny 12401
      Posts
      482
      04-05-2017 05:11 PM #7
      Ok thank you again

    9. Semi-n00b
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2014
      Location
      Northland, New Zealand
      Posts
      19
      Cars
      '06 VW Touran being R32'd, '72 VW 1200 Beetle
      04-06-2017 01:52 AM #8
      The R32 ECU's cannot be recoded from auto to manual. You need to get a manual ecu, or get some serious tuner to sort it out.

      I could NOT load manual software onto a DSG ECU in the mk5 R32 ecu I used in a conversion, either. I could write it, but it didn't allow starting or running and screw up the fans and all sorts. I ended up buying one brand new, and then found a second hand one as well.

      You can use either of the MK4 R32 or MK5 R32 manual transmissions. I don't know what they sold in the US, but the TT with the BUB or BDB 3.2 will be MK5 based. If you fit that trans (02Q), it's all bolt up.

      IF you find a MK4 R32 or 2.8 4motion type trans (02M), you can also use it - you need the flywheel matching the transmission, and you need the driveshafts for the front too, but you'll have to install MK5 outer CV joints - they fit right on. This is what I've done in my Touran R32, which is based on a MK5 chassis.

      You also have to wire in a clutch switch, code all other relevant modules for manual, and change one wire that used to go to the DSG, earth it to allow the starter to run (From Onboard Power Supply module - Central electronincs).

      the automatic type engine ECU will have a fault code for a missing TCU, and because of that code, the ABS module will have a "sympathy" code... so you'll have both lights on...

    10. Member V-dubbulyuh's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 13th, 2005
      Posts
      4,714
      Cars
      Mk3 VRT, Mk4 VRT, Mk4 VRT, Mk4 VR, A3 VR, B6 3.6 4Motion, B5 1.8T
      04-08-2017 01:30 PM #9
      Great info in here, would like to see pics of your Touran swap.
      "OP sounds like a MKIV guy"

    11. Semi-n00b
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2014
      Location
      Northland, New Zealand
      Posts
      19
      Cars
      '06 VW Touran being R32'd, '72 VW 1200 Beetle
      04-09-2017 04:27 AM #10
      Quote Originally Posted by V-dubbulyuh View Post
      Great info in here, would like to see pics of your Touran swap.
      There's an 02M in here, fed by the R32





      This isn't full throttle - Trying to make sure I didn't destroy another driveshaft, after not assembling the first one correctly:
      https://youtu.be/r_Fj7KQqUZs

    12. 04-20-2017 08:27 PM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by DuBnurD View Post
      The R32 ECU's cannot be recoded from auto to manual. You need to get a manual ecu, or get some serious tuner to sort it out.

      I could NOT load manual software onto a DSG ECU in the mk5 R32 ecu I used in a conversion, either. I could write it, but it didn't allow starting or running and screw up the fans and all sorts. I ended up buying one brand new, and then found a second hand one as well.

      You can use either of the MK4 R32 or MK5 R32 manual transmissions. I don't know what they sold in the US, but the TT with the BUB or BDB 3.2 will be MK5 based. If you fit that trans (02Q), it's all bolt up.

      IF you find a MK4 R32 or 2.8 4motion type trans (02M), you can also use it - you need the flywheel matching the transmission, and you need the driveshafts for the front too, but you'll have to install MK5 outer CV joints - they fit right on. This is what I've done in my Touran R32, which is based on a MK5 chassis.

      You also have to wire in a clutch switch, code all other relevant modules for manual, and change one wire that used to go to the DSG, earth it to allow the starter to run (From Onboard Power Supply module - Central electronincs).

      the automatic type engine ECU will have a fault code for a missing TCU, and because of that code, the ABS module will have a "sympathy" code... so you'll have both lights on...
      great information! thanks for sharing!
      24v VR club

    13. Member V-dubbulyuh's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 13th, 2005
      Posts
      4,714
      Cars
      Mk3 VRT, Mk4 VRT, Mk4 VRT, Mk4 VR, A3 VR, B6 3.6 4Motion, B5 1.8T
      04-20-2017 11:20 PM #12
      Thanks for the pics, so to clarify you used a MkV trans for your swap?
      "OP sounds like a MKIV guy"

    14. Semi-n00b
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2014
      Location
      Northland, New Zealand
      Posts
      19
      Cars
      '06 VW Touran being R32'd, '72 VW 1200 Beetle
      04-26-2017 01:14 AM #13
      Quote Originally Posted by V-dubbulyuh View Post
      Thanks for the pics, so to clarify you used a MkV trans for your swap?
      Nope. Car is basically a longer MKV - trans is MKIV 2.8 VR6 (Bora/Jetta 2.8 4motion).

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •