VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

TDI Haldex Mk1 caddy

72K views 108 replies 45 participants last post by  Anyclamp 
#1 · (Edited)
Build thread: TDI Haldex Mk1 caddy

I need a pickup truck that gets good mileage and that can still tow. I currently have a 2003 ALH that I have been using as a truck and I no longer want it full of exhaust parts so I picked up some Caddy's and a 2000 jetta TDI that lost its head due to a bad timing belt job. I have been working on sorting parts for the past 7 months and am finally to a point where I can start fabricating and assembling this truck. I will need some help with the more technical aspects of this build so please chime in if you have done something similar.

Now for the pictures:

ALH block, crank and accessories weighing down my current truck.

MY 02m gear box out of a TT. Now I need the TDI ratios to swap in.

I am currently waiting on some Roston rods. When they arrive I will be taking the bottom end to the machine shop to get the cylinders bored to match the pistons and have them assemble the bottom end. In the mean time I am going to start fabricating the rear subframe for the Haldex to mount to. I want this truck to sit low so it is going to be a challange to do with out chopping away at the bed. Wish me luck.

See less See more
#2 ·
This is a cool build, the TDI 6-speed ratios you'll need are gonna be available in the european market as they had a 6-speed option on there TDI's believe its was for the later common rail engine but still the same idea. however i dont know what the R&P set up they run. you may want to check out tdi club fourms they will have all the detailed info. i know the one guys name is delvi and he has done a fwd 6-speed swap in his tdi and later swapped his ALH for a BEW (i think thats the common rail engine code). i ll check back your progress, good luck!

#6 ·
Side tracked