Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    Fourtitude.com


    Results 1 to 13 of 13
    1. 03-03-2004 05:45 PM #1
      When i try to use a search engine like Yahoo or Google, it brings up a 404 page not found after i type in what i am trying to search. I can search pictures on Yahoo but not in the regular engine. I can also search using the address bar but that really sucks. Anyone have any ideas about what is going on? Thanks in advance.

    2. 03-03-2004 06:16 PM #2
      check your computer with adaware

    3. Senior Member TBT-Syncro's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 28th, 2001
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      20,347
      Cars
      92 VR-T syncro GTI, 2011 husaberg FS570, 2014 Aprilia Tuono V4 APRC
      03-03-2004 07:16 PM #3
      its a virus.

    4. 03-04-2004 02:35 PM #4
      I just installed Norton and adaware and i still can't get it to work.

    5. 03-04-2004 03:37 PM #5
      Quote, originally posted by 602crew »
      I just installed Norton and adaware and i still can't get it to work.

      Did you run them?


    6. Senior Member TBT-Syncro's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 28th, 2001
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      20,347
      Cars
      92 VR-T syncro GTI, 2011 husaberg FS570, 2014 Aprilia Tuono V4 APRC
      03-04-2004 06:24 PM #6
      and before you run them, make sure you update them. a virus scanner thats' not up-to-date is useless.

    7. 03-04-2004 09:58 PM #7
      They ran updates and i installed them. Maybe i am missing something. The ad-aware quarantined a lot of things.

    8. 03-05-2004 10:20 AM #8
      What OS are you on?
      Have you checked your hosts file?

    9. 03-05-2004 10:26 AM #9
      I recommand running Spybot as well coz it picks up the stuff that AdAware didn't.


    10. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 8th, 2002
      Location
      Tampa, FL
      Posts
      3,941
      Cars
      2003 Jetta GLI
      03-05-2004 12:01 PM #10
      Quote, originally posted by 602crew »
      They ran updates and i installed them. Maybe i am missing something. The ad-aware quarantined a lot of things.

      It's not a virus because it doesn't infect then spread. It's a script.

      I had the same problem. Everyone told me to update Norton (which happens twice daily sometimes anyway, and I did it manually too) and ran the updated AdAware files and nothing popped up.

      I can't remember the name of the offending piece of code, but do a search in windows for the filename "hosts". You should find it in \Windows\system32\drivers\etc if you are running XP. Anyway, open it in notepad and it shouldn't look differant from this (unless you have special IT needs)...

      # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
      #
      # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
      #
      # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
      # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
      # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
      # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
      # space.
      #
      # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
      # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
      #
      # For example:
      #
      # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
      # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

      127.0.0.1 localhost


      If anything else is there, delete it. That will help you for the short-term..I think the script might re-write it after a restart. I'll keep looking for the name of it for you though


    11. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 8th, 2002
      Location
      Tampa, FL
      Posts
      3,941
      Cars
      2003 Jetta GLI
      03-05-2004 12:07 PM #11
      Found it..it's called the CPanel trojan.

      If you are using win98, the "hosts" file is in \windows . Open it up and clear it out. Save it and reboot and you should be OK.

      Make sure you have the option checked in Windows Explorer to view hidden files, otherwise you won't find it. I also found the "hosts" file in \Windows\Help, so make sure you are thorough with your search and clear out all the "hosts" files you find. Like I said in the previous post, it should look just like that.

      Good luck, HTH


    12. 03-05-2004 01:00 PM #12
      Quote, originally posted by Mk3WhiteWolf »
      What OS are you on?
      Have you checked your hosts file?

      And if your using nt/2k/xp it will be WINNT\system32\drivers\etc\


    13. 03-05-2004 05:48 PM #13
      It works. I cleared out some hosts that should not have been there. Thanks so much for everyone's help. I can search now for the first time in about a year.
      Now about my computer always changing my homepage after a restart......

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •